The Latsis International Foundation supports the best of
Swiss Research

Professor Lesya Shchutska Receives the 2023 Swiss Latsis Scientific Prize

Winner of the 2023 Swiss Latsis Scientific Prize, physicist Lesya Shchutska, a professor at EPFL, paves the way for the discovery of as-yet unknown particles.

In search of new particles.

“I am delighted to receive the Latsis Prize. I’m also surprised, though – given that I haven’t made a major discovery in particle physics.”

The International Latsis Foundation

A non-profit institution serving the public good, the Foundation was established in 1975 under the aegis of John S. Latsis in recognition of the welcome he and his family received in Switzerland. It was initially based in Fribourg from 1975 to 1990, and moved to Geneva thereafter.

The Foundation in numbers


Swiss Francs awarded


Lectures delivered by internationally renowned researchers and keynote speakers


Latsis University Prizes awarded since 1983


Swiss Scientific Prizes Latsis (between 1984 and 2020 known as “National Latsis Prize”)


Symposia organised at Swiss Institutions of Higher Education (EPFL at ETHZ)


Conferences sponsored at the University of Geneva